What is in this article
Once you have experimented with Nextcloud and gotten the system tweaked as you wish, you may realize that you really wish you could start the Nextcloud instance from scratch, but without the hassle of a reinstalling. That’s what this article is about.
WARNING: All existing data is erased during this procedure!
Configuration done inside Nextcloud (like app installations) is destroyed by this procedure.
Since this is a destructive procure, make sure you can recover if you change your mind, or make a mistake and lose configuration you actually want.
Details depend on how you have decided to do backups, so are not detailed here.
Disconnect all your clients
- On any connected clients for which you are using the ‘Nextcloud’ app, remove the server.
- For any ‘calendar’ or ‘contacts’ (and so on) clients, remove the server you are resetting.
Shutdown the server
On the Nextcloud server:
sudo systemctl stop nginx
sudo systemctl stop php7.4-fpm (or 7.3 on debian/raspbian buster)
Remove your Nextcloud data
Remove data in the filesystem
sudo su - rm -rf /srv/nextcloud-data/* /srv/nextcloud-data/.htaccess /srv/nextcloud-data/ .ocdata exit
(assuming you have chosen
/srv/nextcloud-data as your data directory)
Alternatively you could unmount /srv/nextcloud-data and recreate the filesystem.
Drop the Nextcloud database and recreate
sudo su - postgres dropdb nextclouddb
For C.UTF-8 below substitute the appropriate UTF-8 locale:
createdb -O nextclouddb --encoding UTF8 --locale C.UTF-8 --template template1 nextclouddb exit
Remove your previous Nextcloud instance config
installed config keys.
sudo touch /var/www/nextcloud/CAN_INSTALL
Start Your servers
systemctl start php7.4-fpm (or 7.3 for debian buster) systemctl start nginx
Use the installation wizard (first login)
Or the command line tool (occ). For more details see installation wizard or installing from the command line.
Once you have a successful configuration I recommend a test login. In addition, it would be a good idea to enable “Server-side Encryption” in “Settings” (but only if you do not have full disk encryption enabled, otherwise the system will get too slow).